Zucchini Noodles with Vegan Mint Pesto

It is summer in British Columbia and farmers’ markets are in full swing. There is bountiful produce to enjoy, especially if you grow your own veggies or herbs. This recipe makes use of several market goodies: zucchini, tomatoes, mint, basil and garlic.

Zucchini noodles are a low glycemic alternative to pasta and, for pesto-lovers, I have created a vegan, mint version high in flavour and healthy fats. Mint can help aid digestion and may even lower cholesterol. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment or sharing your versions with me @phruitfuldish.

Mint growing in garden.JPG
Mint growing in my parents’ garden.

Ingredients:

  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 cup fresh basil
  • 1 cup fresh mint
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • cherry tomatoes
  • spiralizer (or sharp knife)

Mint Pesto

How to:

  1. If using a spiralizer, cut both ends of zucchini off and get to work! Otherwise, cut zucchini into thin slices.
  2. Wrap zucchini in paper towel to absorb excess liquid.
  3. Use a food processor to combine basil, mint, walnuts, olive oil, garlic and lemon juice until a smooth paste is formed.
  4. Combine zucchini with pesto and mix well. I added spoonfuls of pesto slowly until I reached the ratio I wanted, which resulted in half the pesto leftover.
  5. Add veggies, like tomatoes, or a high-protein source, such as beans or legumes, if you’d like to make this a meal. Enjoy your minty zoodles!
Pesto Zoodles
Zucchini Noodles with Mint Pesto

PCOS Powers:

  • zucchini = low glycemic alternative to pasta, anti-inflammatory, high in potassium which can help reduce blood pressure, fiber which can help lower cholesterol and polyphenols which may beneficially affect thyroid, adrenal and insulin regulation
  • walnuts = no cholesterol, high in unsaturated fats which help reduce LDL cholesterol and triglyceride levels, help prevent cardiovascular disease
  • mint = aids indigestion, may help manage cholesterol
  • extra virgin olive oilanti-inflammatory, can manage cholesterol levels, studies show 1-2 tbsp a day can lower risk of certain types of cancers
  • garlic = helps lower cholesterol, an antibiotic, & blood cleanser which relaxes blood vessels for easier blood flow

If you want to get my blog posts straight to your inbox, keep scrolling to find the button to follow my blog!

26 Comments Add yours

  1. I want to get one of those spiralizers for my SIL. She eats low carb and I think she’s love zucchini noodles.

    Like

  2. This looks lovely, light, and perfect for summer! I just rediscovered my spiralizer this morning so I’m thinking it’s a sign that I need to make zucchini noodles and pesto asap!

    Like

  3. diana says:

    yum, this looks great. I love Zucchini and we grow our own in my garden, can’t wait to try this recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wonderful! Well you are well-prepared!

      Like

  4. karyld2016 says:

    Oh wow, I’ve never thought of using mint in pesto! I buy a mint plant every spring, and it goes crazy, and I only have a couple of recipes to use it with. Now I’ve got a third! Thanks for sharing

    Like

  5. Oh my gosh, this looks so yummy!
    I’m going to have to try it ❤

    Like

  6. Jasmin says:

    Lovely, simple and just the perfect recipe for the people with crazy zucchini plant…

    Like

  7. Cheeta says:

    Oooh delicious, I love zucchini noodles and really love the sound of this mint pesto especially with my mint plant growing wild at the moment, time to do some harvesting! 😀

    Like

  8. This is soooo yummy!!! Great recipe!!! I think this is going to be one of my favourites!!!

    Like

  9. Brandy says:

    What an interesting way to create a pasta dish, looks yummy! I will have to try to make this for sure!

    Like

  10. danidavidson says:

    This looks so yummy! I’m going to have to try this out myself!

    Like

  11. wow! This looks delicious and the photos are amazing! I will try as soon as back from holidays!

    Like

  12. This looks and sounds amazing. I need to try this. I am a zucchini and pesto fan so I’m sure it will be delicious.

    Xo,
    Angelle
    http://www.dashingdarlin.com

    Like

  13. leslie-anne says:

    Looks delicious. I love zucchini noodles and mint pesto! I just got back from BC and was enamoured with all the incredible produce!

    Like

  14. abountifullove says:

    I just love anything pesto! Thank you for sharing this over at Healthy Living Link party. I will be featuring your dish for tomorrow’s party, I hope to see you again, pinned and shared!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This looks and sounds absolutely delicious! Thanks so much for sharing on the Healthy Living Link Party 🙂 We will be featuring your recipe tonight so don’t forget to stop by and grab your “featured” button! Have a wonderful night! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! How exciting. Thank you so much. I love connecting with health-conscious bloggers! ❤

      Like

  16. Catrin - theVeganista says:

    Love it! Never tried mint pesto but sound delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sofia Cutler says:

    Hey cuz–i made this one for my parents and they loved it (even dad!). Perfect for these scorching hot summer days.
    xo,
    Sofia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This makes me so happy! I love when I hear others are trying my recipes… and even better when it is family! Miss you cuz and a family reunion is in order. Until then, I’ll post a few more recipes for you 😉 xoxo

      Like

  18. Oh my! This is perfect for summer nights. It’s healthy and definitely full to the tummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Amber says:

    Yum this sounds so wonderful. I love it when pesto is walnut based, instead of pine nut based. Question: Which spiraler do you use? I have one, but it’s more for curly fries, so they come out fettuchini sized instead of spaghetti sized!

    Amber
    http://amusedblog.com

    Like

  20. Jenn Gill says:

    I am so excited to try this. I love zucchini, and have been looking for new dishes in which to use the fresh mint that I have been growing at home this summer. Thanks!

    Like

  21. stylelullaby says:

    love pesto! can’t wait to try this recipe 🙂 xo, sharon

    http://www.stylelullaby.com/fashion/getting-ready-holidays-jenni-kayne/

    Like

Leave a comment